Astropath and Navigator Ship Battle
The following actions can be used in starship combat by a Navigator. These actions are not powers and can be performed by any Navigator—although some do have required prerequisites that must be met. Each Action counts as an Extended Action in Starship Combat.
Navigators are intimately familiar with their starship’s capabilities in terms of manoeuvrability and speed. Many also pick up some of the intricacies regarding naval combat—a skill many pick up from their ship’s captains. A Navigator can assist the helmsman with positioning the ship for optimum fire or to help manoeuvre it out of harm’s way. By making a Difficult (–10) Psyniscience Test, the Navigator can assist with the positioning of the vessel so as to add one degree of success to any one successful Ballistic Skill Test made to fire the ship’s weapons during the same Strategic Turn. Alternatively, the Navigator may add one degree of success to a successful Evasive Manoeuvres Test made during the same Strategic Turn. The Navigator must be able to communicate with the ship’s helm in order to make use of this action.
There are times when it’s better to fall back and fight another day. Whenever the Navigator’s ship is engaged in a Stern Chase (see page 216 of ROGUE TRADER) and is trying to escape, the Navigator can make a Difficult (–10) Navigation (Stellar) Test. For every two degrees of success on this Test, the Navigator can reduce the Degrees of Success needed to escape by one.
By using intuitive leaps of logic, the ship’s Navigator can determine an escaping ship’s course. This can aid the pursuing vessel in trying to prevent their enemy from escaping. To accomplish this, the Navigator makes a Difficult (–10) Navigation (Stellar) Test. Each degree of success on the Test reduces to the total number of Successes needed to catch the fleeing ship by one (see page 216 of ROGUE TRADER).
Though a Navigator never follows this order unless no other option remains, some daring captains have been known to call for an emergency entry into the Warp to avoid a devastating shot. This is a last chance action to avoid destruction, as an unplanned jump is perilous in the extreme. In response to an enemy’s shooting, the Navigator may make a Very Hard (–30) Navigation (Warp) Test. If he passes the Test, the ship immediately translates into the Warp until its next Strategic Turn and does not exist in reality until then. Crew members may suffer Warp Hallucinations (see The Effects of Translationon page 29). The ship re-enters at the start of its next Strategic Turn in its original position (if another ship occupies this position, both are destroyed as the two vessels merge and then promptly explode). If the Navigator fails the Test, then the ship translates as described above, but during the vessel’s next Strategic Turn, the GM rolls on Table 2–9: Inaccurate Re-entry(see page 34) to determine the location where the ship has re-entered. If he rolls doubles on the table (11, 22, 33, etc.) before modifiers, he adds 50 to the result in addition to any other bonuses or penalties. If he scores a 9 on any of the dice he rolls, he must also roll on the Table 2–8: Warp Incursions(see page 33) to determine what horror has latched onto the vessel during its split second in the Warp.
Scanning the Aether
The Navigator penetrates the Warp to sense what lies unseen beyond mundane reality, looking for the telltale signs of danger, foes, and Warp manifestations. The Navigator makes a Difficult (–10) Psyniscience Test. If he passes the Test, he sees the shadow of reality unmasked
within the Warp, and he counts as having successfully performed an Active Augury Extended Action (see page 216 of the ROGUE TRADER Core Rulebook), but with a range that extends a number
of VUs equal to three times his Perception Bonus. In addition, if the vessel’s auspex has been damaged or destroyed, it counts as being operational until the vessel’s next Strategic Turn.
A Navigator leads his vessel in between the invisible skeins of the twisting Immaterium, finding a tangled patch in which to hide from the baleful stare of his enemies. The Navigator makes a Hard (–20) Psyniscience Test. If he passes the Test, he chooses one enemy vessel within a number of VUs equal to three times his Perception Bonus. That vessel suffers a –10 penalty to its Detection for one Strategic Round, plus one additional Strategic Round per
Degree of Success the Navigator scored.
MINOR ASTROPATH ACTIONS
The following actions can be used in starship combat by an Astropath. These actions are not powers and can be performed by any Astropath—although some do have required prerequisites that must be met. However, each lists a Focus Power Test. This Test may only be made at the Unfettered or Push Levels. Each Action counts as an Extended Action in Starship Combat.
The Ties That Bind
By using his telepathic powers, the Astropath is able to link together the minds of the bridge crew or nearby ship-mates. This is a rudimentary link that enhances the actions of those under its influence. To make use of this action, the Astropath must have the Mind Link power. The Astropath makes a Challenging (+0) Willpower Focus Power Test and needs at least two degrees of success. Should this occur, then all Explorers (player characters) aboard the ship gain a +5 bonus to any one action while in Starship Combat for the next Strategic Round.
Opening himself up to the Immaterium, an Astropath is able to generate a type of ‘white-noise’ that serves to block out all astropathic communications. Should an enemy vessel have an Astropath (or similar type psyker) on board, this action serves to impede their ability to send or receive messages via telepathy. To do this, the Astropath makes a Challenging (+0) Psyniscience Focus Power Test. For every degree of success, the Astropath generates interference in a radius of 1 Void Unit (VU). Should any psyker wish to send or receive astro-telepathic signals, they will need to make an Opposed Willpower Test against the jamming Astropath.
Divining the Way
Astropaths who are schooled in the Divination Discipline have a number of powers at their disposal. An Astropath who has the Divination Discipline can tap into that power to study the portents and skeins of future events. By making a Hard (-20) Psyniscience Focus Power Test, the Astropath can add 1d5 degrees of success to the next Manoeuvre Action the ship makes.
The character making the Manoeuvre Action must be within sight of the Astropath—and in the same area or room—in order to take advantage of the bonus. This action can only be made once per combat.
Taking the Shot
By utilising their powers of foresight, an Astropath can see into the near future. He can check the positioning of enemy ships and use that information to his advantage. Once per combat, an Astropath with the Divination Discipline can use this glimpse to his advantage by making a Very Hard (-30) Psyniscience Focus Power Test . For every degree of success he gets on this Test, he may grant a +10 bonus to any Shooting Action during Starship combat. The character making the Test must be in contact (verbal or vox) of the Astropath in order to take advantage of the bonus.
Astropaths who possess the power Inspire can use this power and their natural abilities to assist with boarding actions. To do this, the Astropath must be with the boarding characters prior to their Hit and Run action. He does not need to accompany the raid, just be present prior to its initiation. The Astropath makes a Challenging (+0) Psyniscience Focus Power Test . If he succeeds, then he may impart a +10 Bonus per degree of success for either the Pilot (Space Craft) Test or the Command Test portion of the Hit and Run Extended Action (see page 218 of ROGUE TRADER for details).
MAJOR ASTROPATH ACTIONS
Any Astropath or Astropathic Choir aboard a vessel can perform these actions provided that the primary Astropath meets the individual prerequisites. Each lists a Focus Power Test; this Test may only be made at the Unfettered or Push levels, given the scale of power required to have a noticeable effect in the cataclysmic battles between voidships. Each Action counts as an Extended Action in Starship Combat, and each Action causes the Astropaths involved to gain 1d5–1 levels of Fatigue (to a minimum of 0) from the strain.
Control the Weak Mind
The Astropath reaches out and temporarily controls the mind of a gunner on the enemy ship, making him fire on a chosen target. If the Astropath has the Compel Telepathic Domination Technique, he can make an Arduous (–40) Psyniscience Focus Power Test. If he succeeds, he can choose one weapon on one vessel within 1 VU of his own ship. This range increases by an extra VU per Degree of Success the Astropath scored. The chosen weapon must immediately fire
against a target chosen by the Astropath, or can target empty space. That weapon cannot be fired in its vessel’s next Turn.
The Astropath disguises the interior of his ship, shrouding it with dark shadows and illusory twists and turns. If the Astropath has the Delude Telepathic Domination Technique, he can make a Very Hard (–30) Willpower Test. If he succeeds, his ship counts as having a tenebro-maze (see page 205 of the ROGUE TRADER Core Rulebook) for one Strategic Turn plus another Strategic Turn per Degree of Success he scored on the Focus Power Test.
The Astropath attempts to cause psychic flames to burst alight aboard the enemy vessel. If the Astropath has the Telekinesis Discipline, he can choose one vessel within 6 VUs of his own ship, and makes a Hellish (–60) Willpower Focus Power Test. If he succeeds, he causes one randomly chosen Component to catch aflame on the chosen ship, plus another Component per Degree of Success he scored.
The Astropath spreads unnatural terror among enemy boarders, blunting their assault by eroding their will to fight. If the Astropath has the Terrify Telepathic Communication Technique, he can make an Arduous (–40) Willpower Focus Power Testin response to an enemy Boarding Action. If he succeeds, the boarders suffer 1d5 Morale Damage plus 1 per Degree of Success the Astropath scored.
Mask of the Void
The Astropath makes his ship appear to perform a manoeuvre to trick his foes. The vessel shimmers and warps, seeming to be in more than one place at once.If the Astropath has the Delude Telepathic Domination Technique, he can make a Very Hard (–30) Willpower Focus Power Test. If he succeeds, he can choose one vessel within 10 VUs of his own ship. During that vessel’s next turn, if it fires at the Astropath’s vessel, it suffers a –5 penalty to its Ballistic Skill, plus another –5 penalty per Degree of Success the Astropath scored.
The Astropath attempts to deflect an incoming shot with his psychic might, turning aside a blow that might fell his ship.If the Astropath has the Telekinesis Discipline, he can make a Hellish (–60) Willpower Focus Power Testin response to a single enemy shot. If he succeeds, his vessel counts as having one extra void shield against that shot, plus another void shield
per Degree of Success the Astropath scored.
The Astropath dampens a fire within the ship with his mind, willing the flames to sputter and die. If the Astropath has the Telekinesis Discipline, he can make a Very Hard (–30) Willpower Focus Power Test. If he succeeds, he extinguishes one fire on the ship, plus another fire for every three Degrees of Success he scores on the Focus Power Test.
The Astropath dampens the crews’ primal instincts with psychic energy, making them supernaturally fearless. If the Astropath has the Inspire Telepathic Domination Technique, he can make a Very Hard (–30) Willpower Focus Power Test. If he passes this Test, he may restore 1d5 Morale, plus 1 point per Degree of Success. He can only take this Action once per game session